## Florida Atlantic University University Honors Council

31 August 2018 Boca – GS 214B and Jupiter – SR 200 **Minutes** 

## Meeting started at 8:32 am

Present: Mary Ann Gosser (Chair); Cynthia Blum; Bill Bosshardt; Mare Cudic; Ken Dawson-Scully; Charles Duke;

Michael Harrawood; Diana Mitsova; Miguel Á. Vázquez

**Excused**: Tom Atkins, Fred Bloetscher **Ex-officio**: Ed Pratt; Debbi Johnson-Rais

Minutes of 27 April 2018 meeting were approved

1) This year, we have a new voting member: Dr. Fred Bloetscher (College of Engineering and Computer Science).

We also have an ex-officio member, Dr. Debbi Johnson-Rais, Director of the Scholars Program.

- 2) Two new courses from the WHC were approved and will be forwarded to the UUPC. The committee noted that the SAS statement needs to be updated and the "project" should be clarified.
  - a) COP 3073 Honors Introduction to Data Science
  - b) ISS 4304 Honors Computational Social Science
- 3) The new course proposal for FIL 2000 H Film Appreciation (a courtesy review as the document is going through other committees) was discussed and the following concerns were raised and will be brought to Dr. Sim's attention:
  - a) ENC 1101 and ENC 1102 as pre requirements? Should this be the case for IFP courses?
  - b) Gordon Rule should be restated as WAC
  - c) Make the Honors Program clearer; why is this an honors course?
- 4) We discussed the possibility of rescheduling the 28 September to 21 September. The committee agreed.

## **Announcements:**

Meetings for Fall 2018: 8:30-10:00 am in GS 214B and SR 200 in Jupiter Friday 31 August, 21 September, 26 October, 30 November

Dr. Debbi Johnson-Rais explained her position as part of the initiative to attract National Merit Scholars to FAU. We have a total of 27 National Merit Scholars: 9 new for fall 2018 in comparison to the 6 who came last fall.

Adjourned at 9:02 am