

## 2018 Undergraduate Researcher of the Year Winners

Each year the Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry (OURI) invites nominations for the Annual *Undergraduate Researcher of the Year* awards. One student from every college is selected for this award and is recognized at the annual Honors Convocation with "Undergraduate Research Scholar" Stole to wear during their graduation ceremony. These selected students are in good academic standing, have participated in at least two semesters of documented faculty-mentored undergraduate research and inquiry at FAU, and often have presented at multiple conferences and symposia, engaged in additional research activities, and even published their research as an undergraduate!

**Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters**Awardee: Alexander Bruens

Faculty Mentor: Angela D. Nichols

College of Business Awardee: Sydney Elney

Faculty Mentor: Monica Escaleras

College for Design and Social Inquiry

Awardee: Alexandria Remillard

Faculty Mentor: Seth Fallik

College of Education Awardee: Michael Correa

Faculty Mentor: Michael Whitehurst

**College of Engineering and Computer Science**Awardee: Reinaldo Dos Santos

Faculty Mentor: Hassan Mahfuz

Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College Awardee: Abhimanyu Ahuja

Faculty Mentor: Kirill Martemyanov

Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine Awardee: Lisa Victor

Faculty Mentor: Mahyar Nouri-Shirazi

College of Nursing Awardee: Isabella Velasquez Botero

Faculty Mentor: Patricia Liehr

Charles E. Schmidt College of Science

Awardee: Stephen Hoover

Faculty Mentor: Elan Barenholtz